Simple Cream of Broccoli Soup

When I was little, I wouldn’t even sit near a plate of veggies let alone eat them. If it was green, forget it. The only green thing that I would eat was green mint chocolate chip ice cream, but that’s a story for another time.

You’re talking to a girl whose first words she learned to spell were pizza and cookies. Vegetables, especially broccoli, were not in my vocab.

This soup is an entirely different story. I loved this soup before I even stopped hating broccoli. I would order it almost every time I went out to eat with my family; of course I probably swallowed the broccoli whole in fear of tasting it or the waiter carted off a bowl with the discarded broccoli sitting lonely at the bottom.

The problem with restaurant or store-bought Cream of Broccoli Soup is that it is very often high in fat, sodium, etc. This homemade version is definitely healthier.

The best part of this soup, seriously, is how easy it is to make. I live in a college apartment; and my kitchen space is very, very limited. I really try to make all of my meals because if any of you remember college food…it’s not particularly the tastiest or healthiest food out there. It being wintertime and freezing outside, I’ve been craving the comfort of warm, hot soup; a soup beyond chicken noodle or microwaveable ramen, a soup with few ingredients that didn’t need to be pureed or strained or cooked for hours.

If you understand my dilemmas, then this soup should be on your dinner menu like right now. It’s healthy, hearty, creamy, cheesy…do you need any other reasons?

Cream of Broccoli Soup
Makes about 4 servings

3 c. chopped broccoli* (about 2-3 heads)
1/2 tsp. garlic powder
Salt & Pepper
2 c. chicken broth (store-bought or homemade)
1 medium onion, quartered
3 tbsp. butter
4 tbsp. flour
1 1/2 c. milk
1 c. grated cheddar cheese (optional)

In a medium sauce pan, combine broccoli, garlic powder, salt & pepper, chicken broth and onion. Bring this to a boil and cook for about 10 minutes. In a pan, melt the butter and stir in flour off heat. Gradually add milk, stirring constantly. Place milk mixture back on medium heat and stir until it thickens. Add the milk mixture to the broccoli mixture and stir until thickened. If desired, add the grated cheese to the soup and mix until melted. Serve hot and sprinkle extra cheese on top.

* Chop the broccoli into smaller pieces and this eliminates the need to puree the soup.

I know what I’m having for lunch, what about you?

Leave a Reply

