Spicy Garlic Hummus

I really hate chickpeas. No, really, I hate them.
But I’ll make an exception for hummus; especially when it’s of a garlic or supremely spicy flavor. And if you hate chickpeas, you should make an exception too.

Because you’ll be extremely pleasantly surprised. I’m almost one hundred percent sure that when I first started liking and eating hummus, that I had no clue what it was actually made of.

Hummus has quickly become one of my favorite things to eat ever. It’s healthy, filling and tastes good with just about anything. My mom and I could easily devour an entire container together with carrots, pita chips, and pretzels. I’m serious. You’re welcome to join us because even if we may not want to share, it’d probably be better for everyone.


Spicy Garlic Hummus
Serves 1 (ha, kidding!)

1 can chickpeas
1/4 c. olive oil
4-5 cloves garlic, minced
3 tbsp. plain greek yogurt
1/2 tsp. crushed red pepper
1/2 tbsp. hot sauce
1/2 tbsp. lemon juice
1/2 tsp. garlic powder
1 jar hot red peppers (optional)

In food processor, add chickpeas (you can rinse and drain them from the can or not, it’s your preference) and blend until chunky. Add olive oil, garlic and greek yogurt; blend until mixed well.Add crushed red pepper, hot sauce, lemon juice and garlic powder. Mix until you’ve reached a smooth consistency* then scoop hummus into serving bowl. Top with a few hot red peppers if desired for serving purposes and extra spice. Serve with chips and veggies.

*You may need to add more olive oil or greek yogurt to achieve a smoother, creamier consistency. Also, I would think that you could totally omit the olive oil and replace it with more greek yogurt; it gives it a very creamy texture that I liked.

You should bring this to your Superbowl party. I won’t tell anyone what hummus is made of if you don’t, deal?

3 thoughts on “Spicy Garlic Hummus

    • I’ve never had chickpea curry (I’ll have to give it a try, recipe?) but I’ve really tried to like chickpeas, I just can’t eat them unless they’re in hummus. I know, I know, it’s weird but what can I say! :) Thanks :)

  1. Great recipe I LOVE hummus (though my boyfriend still thinks that is only for plants… You should try falafel balls too, you would never think they are made of chickpeas and they are so so so good! cheers

Leave a Reply

