Buffalo Chicken Salad Cucumber “Sushi”

I use the term ‘sushi’ loosely.

Until recently, I was starting to really become a fan of sushi. I loved dipping the rolls in wasabi and soy sauce. However, over spring break last year I had a reaction to some kind of fish and I am now under strict orders to not eat seafood until I know, for sure, what I am allergic too. This means no more sushi for me.

Last week I saw a post on Eat Yourself Skinny that made me so incredibly mad that I’m not allowed to eat seafood. Almost to the point where I was going to make and eat them anyway and just have my epipen on standby…but I’m sure I would have upset several people if I had ended up in the emergency room.

This buffalo chicken salad turned out pretty great. I was eating it straight out of that bowl and would’ve eaten it on just about anything. I had to stop myself for fear that I wouldn’t have enough left for the photographs.

These are super easy to make and pretty affordable too. I think that they would be a huge hit at a Superbowl party or any party for that matter. I had planned to eat them for dinner last night until I got home from class late and, having forgot about them, scarfed down two bowls of cereal. While putting the milk away, I saw them sitting innocently on the shelf; after feeling sad for a second, I quickly ate two*.

Buffalo Chicken Salad Cucumber “Sushi”

2 c. shredded, cooked chicken breast
1/3 c. celery, diced (about 1 stalk)
1/3 c. light mayo
1/4 c. hot sauce
2 med. cucumbers, cut in thick pieces

Mix chicken, celery, mayo and hot sauce in a bowl. If you are looking for more spice, add more hot sauce. When the chicken is all mixed together, cut the cucumbers in thick slices. Using a small spoon, scoop out the middle of the cucumber; be careful not to scoop through the bottom. Then spoon chicken mixture into cucumber cups and serve. If desired, serve with blue cheese or ranch dressing on the side.

*Followed by two more. I guess it’s a better choice than cookies, right?

3 thoughts on “Buffalo Chicken Salad Cucumber “Sushi”

  1. You can make them even healthier by using greek yogart instead of mayo:) I make this all the time and add hidden valley ranch seasoning too.

Leave a Reply

