Honey Mustard Glazed Chicken Dippers

I don’t think I have ever made more of a mess than I have this past week.

Besides the fact that I’ve washed dishes about a dozen times every day, I’m pretty sure my poor camera will have flour stuck in its crevices for the rest of its life. Not to mention the fact that I almost dipped the lens into a bowl of honey yesterday; that would have been not so good.

What would be good, however, would be if you made these little chicken dippers this weekend. They are the perfect food to serve during the Superbowl, believe me. Years ago, when I only used to watch the Superbowl for the half-time show and the commercials, my dad would make these. Of course back then he used chicken wings and fried them, which you could totally do as well.

Fast forward about ten years and I’m still only watching the Superbowl for the half-time show and commercials (while occasionally flipping to the Puppy Bowl on Animal Planet) but I’m a little more health conscious, which is why I chose to bake these.

I can honestly say that I prefer the baked version; they’re more juicy and less greasy than the fried version. I’m a huge fan of anything with honey mustard in it or on it. The glaze on this is so good, I could probably eat it with a spoon or drizzle it on a salad (something a little more sensible) if there was extra.

Honey Mustard Glazed Chicken Dippers

1 lb. chicken tenders (or chicken breasts)
2 eggs
1 c. milk
1 1/2 c. flour
1/2 c. bread crumbs
2 tbsp. dry mustard
1/2 tbsp. cracked pepper
1/2 c. honey
1/2 stick of butter
1 – 1 1/2 tbsp. Dijon mustard

Cut the chicken into small nugget sized pieces. In a small bowl, mix the eggs and milk together. In another bowl, mix the flour, bread crumbs, dry mustard and pepper; mix well.

Dredge the chicken pieces into the flour, shaking off an excess, then dip the chicken into the egg mixture and then back in the flour. Do not shake off any excess. Put the chicken in a baking pan or sheet, with a thin layer of oil at the bottom. Bake at 400 degrees for about 20 minutes, turning the chicken over halfway through.

While the chicken is cooking, melt the butter in a sauce pan. Mix in the honey and the mustard. Stir well, add additional honey or mustard according to taste, if desired. It should have the consistency of a warm syrup. Once the chicken is done, using tongs, take the chicken from the pan and dip it into the glaze. Place on paper bags or towels to absorb the excess. Can be served hot or cold.

I actually had quite a bit of the flour and egg mixture left over, so you could probably make an additional 1/2 – 1 lb. of chicken.

If you need me for anything, I’ll be in the kitchen washing more dishes.

5 thoughts on “Honey Mustard Glazed Chicken Dippers

Leave a Reply

