BBQ Turkey Burgers

For the first time in a long time, I took a nap. What started out as just laying down for 15 minutes turned into a full-blown three hour nap. Hence the reason this post is so late.

But since I probably won’t be able to fall asleep later tonight, I’ll be able to plan out many future posts and recipes ideas. Which is good for you but bad for me; I’ll be cranky tomorrow. And tomorrow is a big day.

Not only is it the day before the Superbowl which, honestly, I could care less about…but it’s also the day my boyfriend and I are going to explore New York City. We were able to get some great off-Broadway tickets to the musical Rent and I’m super excited. Not just for the show, but to eat some great food in the city as well.

I’ve been craving a good burger and milkshake. I’m positive that New York City won’t let me down. And if you’re craving a good, healthier burger then these burgers won’t let you down. They are juicy, packed with flavor and so easy!

What I really enjoy about these is that you don’t have to use them as a typical burger. I grilled one, crumbled it up and ate it in a tortilla as a taco; it was delicious. I still have some leftover and I think that they would also be great as a salad topper. So you can get really creative with them.

BBQ Turkey Burgers
Makes about 6 burgers

1.25 lb ground turkey (I used Jennie-O extra lean)
1/3 c. BBQ sauce
1/4 c. onion, diced
1/3 c. cheddar cheese, shredded
Hamburger buns, lettuce, onions, etc. for topping

Mix all ingredients together. If desired, sprinkle with a little salt and pepper. Once mixed, using your hands form small, palm sized patties. (My hands are small, so you may get larger patties).

Place patties on a plate or baking sheet, refrigerate for at least 20 minutes to hold them together a bit more. Cook or grill the patties until cooked through, I used a George Foreman grill. Serve on buns or over lettuce with additional BBQ sauce or cheese.

I think I know what I’m eating for dinner.

3 thoughts on “BBQ Turkey Burgers

  1. Yum!! I love turkey burgers. They are so versatile and healthy to boot. Did you love Rent?? I have seen it twice and it is absolutely my favorite musical ever. Hope you had an awesome NYC excursion!

    • Yes! Rent was absolutely amazing, I don’t think I stopped listening to the soundtrack since! This was the fourth time I’ve seen it but the first time since it went off-broadway; it was a little different but still just as good. Plus it was my boyfriend’s first time seeing it, so it was great to watch him enjoy it as much as I did :)

Leave a Reply

