Roasted Spaghetti Squash

Meet my current obsession.

I seriously don’t know how I lived for so long without eating this. Probably because if someone said the word ‘squash’ to me two years ago, I would have ran in the other direction screaming. In all honesty, this doesn’t even taste like squash and it’s a wonderful, healthy alternative to pasta. I don’t know what I’m going to do when they’re out of season. I may die a little bit inside.

I think I’ve actually only met one person who even knew what spaghetti squash was and I’m pretty positive that I’m the only one buying them at my grocery store. Please give it a shot. I couldn’t even get my family to try it, which made me sad because it’s so good and really, really easy.

What I really love about spaghetti squash is that you can do pretty much anything with it. I usually roast one over the weekend and then eat it all week long for dinner; sometimes I’ll add a little tomato sauce and some meatballs, other times I throw in some veggies and cheese. Once I even used it to make baked ziti; the result was delicious. My boyfriend is convinced it tastes like hash browns, so I’m sure he’d probably eat it for breakfast too.

While it won’t really satisfy any craving for actual spaghetti, it is a very healthy option for those nights you don’t feel like eating heavy carb-filled pasta. Plus, a cup of spaghetti squash is about forty calories; you really can’t beat that. And since your dinner is so healthy, that means you get extra dessert!

Roasted Spaghetti Squash

1 spaghetti squash
salt & pepper
garlic powder
Parmesan cheese

Cut the spaghetti squash in half, longwise. If this is difficult, you can microwave the squash for a minute or two until it’s easier to cut. Using a spoon, scoop out the seeds and guts of the squash. Season with salt, pepper and garlic powder according to your preference.

Place the halves on a baking sheet facing up and bake at 375 degrees for about 45 minutes to an hour, until sides of squash are tender. Let them cool for a few minutes. Using a fork, scrap out the inside of the squash into a bowl. Season with more pepper/garlic powder and some cheese (Parmesan is delicious with it and so is some asiago).

What’s great about this recipe is that it is pretty basic, so if you have leftovers you can always dress it up differently the next day with some tomato sauce or even a pesto.

I think I know what my plans are for dinner tonight. This is should be on your table too.

One thought on “Roasted Spaghetti Squash

  1. I’ve never seen this type of squash around here, but I’m a big fan of other types of roasted squash, so it must be pretty good too! “Luckily” my boyfriend truly doesn’t like it so normally I have a whole squash all for myself : )

Leave a Reply

