Peach & Blueberry Parfait with Greek Yogurt

Let’s talk about greek yogurt and how I’m not a fan.

Or at least I wasn’t a fan for a long time. Don’t get me wrong, there are several things I do like about greek yogurt. For one, it’s extremely healthy. It’s full of protein and keeps me full for hours. The thickness and texture is something I also really like compared to regular yogurt. However, the bitterness of the yogurt just doesn’t sit right with me.

I’ll never forget the first time I tried greek yogurt; I spat it out and was very convinced that I had just ate a spoonful of sour cream. After that experience, I gave it another shot by trying the kind with the fruit flavors by Chobani. These were really good because the fruit was able to balance out the bitterness of the yogurt itself without being too overly sweet. However, some of the flavors had over twenty grams of sugar and the fruit was more a syrupy layer at the bottom.

So, I decided to make my own and I was surprised by how much more I enjoyed greek yogurt this way. It was creamy, filling and the fresh fruit was just so much more delicious and added a nice little crunch to yogurt. If you have a wishy-washy relationship with greek yogurt like me, then I would definitely suggest trying it this way. This is a great, healthy breakfast, snack, lunch or even dessert.

Peach & Blueberry Parfait with Greek Yogurt
Makes 1 serving

1 6oz. container greek yogurt, plain non-fat
1 small peach, sliced
1/4 c. blueberries
1/2 tbsp. maple syrup or honey
1/4 tsp. cinnamon

In a small bowl or glass, scoop about a third of yogurt into it. Place some peach slices and blueberries on top and then scoop another third of the yogurt on top. Repeat with fruit and yogurt again. Garnish the top with a peach slice and some blueberries. Drizzle maple syrup or honey on top and sprinkle with cinnamon.

If you’re not feeling the healthy aspect of this, you can always have this for breakfast instead…or you know, for second breakfast.

5 thoughts on “Peach & Blueberry Parfait with Greek Yogurt

  1. Jul…this is my most favorite breakfast foo!!! Sooo soo good n healthy too…while in Florida I make it with grapefruit and oranges,always with the greek yogurt n cinnamon…sometimes I add toasted chopped almonds for added crunch!! Love your style! So enjoying your blog!

  2. Yum! I’d take this over my morning oatmeal in a heartbeat! Also I awarded you something special on my blog :) I love all of your recipes, thanks for so many yummy posts!!

Leave a Reply

