Maple Peanut Butter Swirled Brownies

I just had the best weekend of my life.

It was a weekend full of laughter, cookies, frozen yogurt and some serious kitchen failures. My beautiful cousin, Kelsey, came to visit me this weekend; this girl is my better half. It’s hard to believe that we grew up practically despising each other for the first five or so years of our lives. We go together like chocolate and peanut butter.

She shared an amazing veggie burger recipe over the weekend and I cannot wait to share that with you because I could eat it all day long; it’s that good. This weekend was also the first time I tried to make frosting. We made some awesome chocolate cut-out cookies and wanted to decorate them; unfortunately, the frosting was just short of a disaster. I won’t even tell you everything we tried to do to get it to work because we were probably so off.

Next time, though, we’re going to make it work. Although I failed at my first attempt at making frosting, I was much luckier with my first attempt at making brownies from scratch. I’ve always baked boxed brownies because they are so convenient and taste pretty good. However, I had been dying to try to make my own and I finally did! The result was better than I could have hoped for; a super moist, fudgy brownie. I’ll definitely be sticking with this recipe from now one.

These brownies contain my most favorite ingredient/food ever; peanut butter. Not just any peanut butter, though. I used Peanut Butter & Co’s Mighty Maple Peanut Butter to give the brownies a hint of maple flavor. I’m constantly debating over which of their flavors is my favorite. My top three are definitely Cinnamon Raisin Swirl, The Bee’s Knees and Mighty Maple. If you ever find any of PB&Co’s peanut butter in your grocery store, you should really pick up a jar or two. They may be a bit pricier than other peanut butters but trust me, they are delicious and I am forever addicted.

Maple Peanut Butter Swirled Brownies
(Brownie recipe adapted from AllRecipes.com)

1/2 c. oil
3/4 c. sugar
1 tsp. vanilla
2 eggs
1/2 c. flour
1/3 c. cocoa powder
1/4 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. salt
2/3 c. Mighty Maple peanut butter, melted (you can
also use regular/crunchy/etc)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a bowl, mix together the oil, sugar and vanilla; beat in eggs. Add dry ingredients and mix well. Pour the batter into a greased baking pan. Melt the peanut butter in a separate bowl by microwaving for 45 seconds at a time until melted. Drizzle the peanut butter on top of the brownie batter (try to do this in vertical lines up and down the pan). Using a toothpick, swirl the peanut butter throughout the surface of the batter to create a marble effect. Bake for 20-25 minutes.

Sadly, I’m out of Mighty Maple peanut butter now. Not because of these brownies but because I can’t stop eating it by the spoonful out of the jar. It belongs on these brownies though.

10 thoughts on “Maple Peanut Butter Swirled Brownies

  1. Oh my goodness, your blog is going to slay me! These look amazing. And after a few tweaks to make them gluten free, guess what I’ll be eating tomorrow?! :-)

Leave a Reply

