Lemon Meringue Pie

If I could have anything for Valentine’s Day, it would be this.

Forget chocolate and leave behind anything red velvet, this is what I want for every holiday, birthday and all those days in between. Meet my most favorite dessert, my deepest desire and the one thing I would choose over peanut butter every single time; lemon meringue pie.

When I was younger, I loved reading Amelia Bedelia books. The books were fun for a little kid and at the end of each book, Amelia always made a lemon meringue pie in apology for whatever mess she made. I remember asking my mom what lemon meringue pie was and she told me she’d make me one. That was the beginning of our love affair.

Since then I don’t think I’ve celebrated a birthday without one; I’d choose pie over cake any day of the week. This was my first time attempting to make a pie and I was surprised about how easy it was. If you want to make your Valentine happy, then I suggest you make this. Put down the red food coloring, everyone has red velvet cakes, and change things up a bit.

Unfortunately, my Valentine does not like lemon meringue pie so my Valentine’s Day will be definitely lacking in that department. He did, however, surprise me with some beautiful flowers and we intend to devour large amounts of frozen yogurt later. It might not be the same as lemon meringue pie but frozen yogurt is almost as good (especially when I can load up with tons of toppings).

While frozen yogurt may suffice for this holiday, my Valentine better be aware that there will be no substitution for lemon meringue pie on my birthday. Don’t worry, I’m just kidding.

Lemon Meringue Pie

1 pie crust (store-bought or homemade, recipe below)
3 tbsp. cornstarch
1 c. sugar
2 tbsp. flour
Rind of 1 lemon, grated
2 c. boiling water
3 egg yolks
6 tbsp. lemon juice
1 tbsp. butter

Meringue:
3 egg whites
3/4 tsp. baking powder
6 tbsp. sugar
1/2 tsp. lemon juice or vanilla

Pie Crust:
1 c. flour
1/3 c. crisco plus 1 tbsp
1/4 tsp. salt
2-3 tbsp. of water

For the pie crust, mix dry ingredients until crumbly. Then add water one tablespoon at a time until a ball of dough is formed. On a floured surface, roll the dough out and place on top of a pie plate. Using your fingers, press the dough into the pie plate and pinch around the edges for the crust; remove any excess pieces. Using a fork, pierce all sides and bottom of the pie crust, creating small holes. Bake the crust at 400 degrees for about 8 minutes or until golden brown.

For the pie: In a microwave safe bowl, mix together half the sugar with the cornstarch, flour, salt, lemon rind and water, stirring constantly. Microwave 1-2 minutes at a time, stirring until the mixture is thick and clear. In another bowl, mix the remaining sugar with lemon juice and egg yolks; beat. Add this to the clear mixture and cook in microwave for another 2 minutes until thick and smooth; then add the butter. Pour this mixture into the pie crust.

For the meringue: In a mixing bowl, add baking powder to egg whites and beat until stiff. Gradually add sugar and lemon juice/vanilla; continue beating until it forms stiff peaks. Place the meringue on top of the pie and bake at 325 degrees for about 15 minutes or until the meringue gets golden brown.


I hope everyone’s having a great Valentine’s Day! What’s your favorite Valentine’s treat?

 

9 thoughts on “Lemon Meringue Pie

  1. I think I mark every recipe you post down so that I can try it when I get home on some college break :) These all look so delicious, and I love lemon dessert anything so I am DEFinitely putting this pie on the list.

Leave a Reply

