Mexican Black Bean Veggie Tacos

Meet the most versatile and delicious veggie burger in existence.

I’d like to thank my cousin, Kelsey, for sharing this amazing recipe with me this past weekend. I’m officially hooked and bought about 5 cans of beans the other day at the store. I am totally prepared to make these several times in the upcoming weeks. These are great for making once and then eating them for the rest of the week.

While these were originally supposed to be burgers; when Kelsey and I made these over the weekend, we turned them into tacos. I’m sure they are just as good, if not even better, as burgers but I’m a sucker for anything Mexican. It looks like tacos are on the dinner menu again, not that I’m complaining.

I can almost guarantee that even if you are an extreme carnivore, you will immensely enjoy these. Kelsey and I have had our share attempts at vegetarianism/veganism and therefore, we were practically in love with this recipe before it even reached our dinner plates. My boyfriend, on the other hand, could not be any more of a meat-eater; if it has bacon or prosciutto, he’s in love.

Even he devoured this; like completely cleaned his plate. I was too busy shoveling my own tacos into my face to comment on it at the time, though. We had some leftovers and enjoyed them the following morning mixed in with some eggs; tastes glorious in breakfast tacos as well.

Mexican Black Bean Veggie Tacos
Makes about 6 burgers or about a dozen tacos

1 15oz. can black beans, drained
1 small onion, sauteed
1/2 red bell pepper, diced
1 jalapeno, seeded and diced (optional)
2/3 c. corn, frozen or fresh
1 egg
1/3 c. bread crumbs
2 tsp. taco seasoning (or a mixture of cumin and chili powder)
Tortillas
Toppings: lettuce, cheese, salsa, guacamole, sour cream, etc.

Place beans in a Ziploc bag; once sealed, roll over the beans with a rolling pin until mostly smashed (you can do this in a food processor too). Pour the beans into a large bowl and add the sauteed onions, pepper, corn, egg, bread crumbs and taco seasoning. Using your hand or a wooden spoon, mix well. Shape the mixture into patties and place on a greased baking sheet. Cook at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes; flipping the patties over halfway through. Once done, you can serve as a burger or crumble them up and serve as tacos. Make sure to add lots of toppings.

This time, I have them all to myself. No sharing required.

6 thoughts on “Mexican Black Bean Veggie Tacos

Leave a Reply

