Tapioca Pudding

I have a funny story to tell you about this tapioca.

I’ve made tapioca hundreds of times before and by made, I mean I sat in the kitchen and stirred it for my mom for hours. This is the first time I’ve truly made it by myself from start to finish. I guess I was feeling quite ambitious and decided that I would also make rice pudding at the same time (a recipe that I will be sharing with you later, not to worry).

Before you start imagining some sort of kitchen disaster where everything blows up and my poor mother comes home to find our kitchen covered into partially cooked puddings, I’m happy to say that both turned out splendidly. Albeit, I wouldn’t recommend anyone trying it out for themselves; the kitchen became incredibly hot from having both puddings on the stove (it also didn’t help that I was also roasting a spaghetti squash in the oven).

Anyway, back to the funny story about this tapioca. I had went out running early in the morning and decided that I would make the tapioca and rice pudding before showering. I put on my little sisters extremely vibrant and ruffled apron and started cooking away. I had music blaring, the back door was open letting in the lovely sunlight and I was standing at the stove, two spoons in each hand, stirring the pots simultaneously.

Honestly, I probably could not have looked more of a mess if I tried. I was singing along to something embarrassing, probably the Spice Girls Pandora station, when I turned my head towards the back door, still stirring both pots, only to make eye contact with our mailman. I’m not lying when both of us just stared at each other for a good five seconds in complete disbelief; I was in disbelief as to why he was still there and well, I think we all know why he was confused. Luckily, he awkwardly stumbled away to the next house soon after and I continued to stir away as if I wasn’t just completely embarrassed.

Tapioca Pudding

1/3 c. tapioca balls
1/2 c. sugar
1 tbsp. cornstarch
2 egg yolks (save the egg whites and put to the side)
Quart of milk
1 tsp. vanilla

Stir ingredients in a double boiler, over heat until thick and tapioca balls are translucent for least 30 minutes stirring constantly. When thick, transfer to large bowl. Take the egg whites and beat them until white and fluffy; fold into pudding. Let cool.

It was worth the embarrassment, though.

 

2 thoughts on “Tapioca Pudding

Leave a Reply

