Southwestern Zucchini “Crab” Cakes

I can’t wait for summer.

I’m tired of all this rainy, cold weather. I just can’t wait to be wearing flip flops everyday; I love being barefoot and I’m so over this whole shoes and sock thing. It seriously only makes for more laundry.

My skin is so dry and pale. In a few months, I’ll be so excited to soak up all the warm sun on a beach or by a pool. The only thing I’ll have to worry about is getting a serious sun burn or sand in my bathing suit. I’m definitely a warm weather person and with March just a day away…it just means that spring is that much closer. Well, hopefully.

Nothing feels more like summer than enjoying some fresh seafood while sitting outside at a picnic table. These “crab” cakes gave me a feeling of summer this weekend when I was locked up in my apartment avoiding the wind and cold. These are very refreshing and would taste great on a nice, hot summer day; or you know, a cold day that you’re trying to make warmer.

Please make these. Maybe spring will come here faster and I can break out my hundred pairs of flip-flops from the closet. Although, hopefully not too fast, my toes haven’t seen the light of day in a long time. I’ll have to treat myself to a pedicure, then break out the flippy-floppys or buy some new ones.

Southwestern Zucchini “Crab” Cakes
(Makes about 16 small cakes or 8 big ones)

1 1/2 c. shredded zucchini, squeezed dry (as best you can)
1 c. panko bread crumbs
1 1/2 tbsp. onion, grated
1 tsp. old bay seasoning
2 tbsp. flour
1 tbsp. plain greek yogurt
6 tbsp. Southwestern flavored Egg Beaters (or 2 eggs)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a bowl, combine the zucchini, bread crumbs, onion, old bay, flour and yogurt. Mix in the egg substitute or real eggs. Mix well. Using your hands, shape the mixture into small cakes (or large if desired), place on lightly greased baking pan. Bake for about 15-18 minutes, flipping halfway through, until golden brown on both sides. Serve with cocktail sauce, ketchup, etc.

The best part? These are also incredibly healthy and I can eat them because they do not have crab in them. If you make the small cakes, they’re just about 25 calories each. A great little appetizer idea :)

3 thoughts on “Southwestern Zucchini “Crab” Cakes

Leave a Reply

