Orange Cranberry Scones

Yesterday, I made scones. Today, I must make scones because yesterdays scones are gone and I’m sad.

This was my first time ever making scones and maybe my second time actually eating them, I’m not sure. I cannot ever recall there being scones in our house; we’re more of a cookie, doughnut and pie family, I guess. These scones, however, have totally changed my tune. I would choose one of these over any doughnut.

I was inspired to make these scones. Ever since buying and eating Trader Joe’s Orange Flavored Cranberries, I just knew that they would taste amazing in a scone, muffin or any type of bread. I’m delighted that I chose to use them in a scone recipe; now I’m less tempted to eat them straight from the bag. Do yourself a favor if you live by a TJ’s, buy yourself some of these cranberries the next time you go. Not just because they are delicious but because they’ll make these scones ten times better.

All I can say is, thank goodness I only made half a batch because it left me with six pretty large scones and I could not stop eating them. I took a nibble here and a nibble there and pretty soon one scone was gone. I quickly stored the remaining scones in a container to save for the boyfriend. I probably sent him about a dozen messages about these scones and how awesome they were; it would have been unfair for me to consume them all without him. So, I patiently waited.

Needless to say, the scones are now gone and I’m a little sad. I would be baking more as we speak, er type, but alas, I am out of flour; today is a sad, sad day in the Must Come Hungry world. There are no scones, there is no flour and I have barely a cup of sugar left. Looks like I’m in desperate need of another trip to the grocery store; it’ll actually be my first trip this week! Usually by Wednesday I’ve already been to the store a half dozen times.

Orange Cranberry Scones
(Makes 12 scones)

1 c. + 2 tbsp. sugar
2 tbsp. Orange Juice, divided
3 c. flour
1 1/2 tbsp. orange zest
1 tbsp. baking powder
1 tsp. salt
3/4 c. butter, chilled and diced
1 c. orange flavored dried cranberries (or regular dried cranberries)
1/2 c. milk

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Set aside the 2 tablespoons of sugar and 1 tbsp. of orange juice for glazing the scones. In a bowl, combine flour, 1 cup sugar, baking powder, orange zest and salt. Add the diced butter and using your hands, incorporate the butter into the flour mixture. Continue until you have a nice crumbly mixture. Add the cranberries and mix. Pour in the milk and the rest of the orange juice. Using a fork, toss the dough until it sticks together in clumps; add more milk if the dough seems too dry. Make the dough into a ball and divide in two; press each half into a 6-inch round circle (1-inch high) on a floured surface. Cut each circle into six wedges and transfer onto a baking sheet. For the glaze, whisk  the reserved sugar and OJ together in a small bowl. Brush the tops of the scones with the glaze before baking.

Bake at 375 degrees for 18-20 minutes until golden brown. Allow to cool before serving.

Now I’m off to stock up on flour, sugar and butter! Perhaps I should get some veggies too, you know, to balance everything out.

15 thoughts on “Orange Cranberry Scones

  1. I can’t believe this is your first time making scones….they look fabulous!!! I love this recipe, it looks delicious but not complicated! I will be making these this weekend!

    Thanks for sharing.

  2. Yum! We never had scones in my house but we’d always get them on special occasions… like out to breakfast or at the bakery and they were always SOO good. I’d smother mine in jam.. mmm…I haven’t made many of them at home though, your orange cranberry recipe sounds amazing! Maybe I’ll have to start making that at home too :)

  3. Pingback: Cranberry Orange Scones « While He Was Out

  4. My mom has been craving scones for months and I finally gave in and gave it a try. Your recipe is perfect, and now I can’t get out of baking duty (not that I try, mind, those scones are delicious). Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

